Thursday, November 17, 2011

Congressional Gold Medal Presented to Astronauts

U.S. Mint Image
WASHINGTON - The New Frontier Congressional Gold Medal was presented to astronauts John Herschel Glenn, Jr.; Neil A. Armstrong; Edwin E. "Buzz" Aldrin, Jr.; and Michael Collins during a ceremony in the Rotunda of the U.S. Capitol.

The medal, designed and struck by the United States Mint, is in recognition of these astronauts' significant contributions to our Nation.

John Glenn became the first American to orbit the Earth on February 20, 1962, helping pave the way for the first lunar landing. As mission commander for Apollo 11, Neil Armstrong gained the distinction of being the first astronaut to . . .

Read more at:

No comments: